Meg writes microfiction! For fun!

Okay, so I wrote a super-short microfiction story over the weekend for NYC Midnight. It’s a mere hundred words. And I’ve gotten the go-ahead just now to share the story, because the judges have tallied it.

My assignment was: sci-fi, the action of unbuttoning, and the inclusion of “digest” (or a bigger word containing “digest”). And it makes no difference if the bigger word means something else entirely. For example, if your word is “hat”, you could use the word “chat”, “that”, or “what”. Or, if you’re feeling ambitious, “bhutatathata”. (I think the judges would love that.)

I’d love to hear any thoughts or feedback. Just keep in mind that it’s very difficult to tell a story in a hundred words!

A Silence in the Family

In his bedroom, ten-year-old Barry fed his alien some slugs.

“Thank you, sir.” Xyclops’ buttons popped off as he outgrew his clothing. “I’m ready to help.”

Mom’s voice carried upstairs. “YOU SAT ON THE CAT, YOU DRUNKEN MORON!”

Dad’s voice followed. “I KNOW! I’VE GOT BITE MARKS TO PROVE IT!”

“Sir,” Xyclops said, “I can only mute one parent with my putrid breath. Whose vocal cords shall I destroy?”

Barry groaned. “Dad’s.”

Xyclops hopped away.

Deafening silence.

Xyclops returned.

“They’re both quiet,” Barry whispered.

“Indigestion, sir. More breath than expected.” Xyclops belched. It stank. Barry would never speak again. “Oops.”

HA HA HA HA HA! Oh my. Ahem.

Hmm… what else can I report on… Anyway, let me know what you all think! I hope the story made sense. I had to keep editing it to make it more understandable.

 

 

2 responses to “Meg writes microfiction! For fun!”

  1. How fun! Thanks for writing and sharing that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome!! Yeah, it sure is fun!! YAY!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started